Nutritious Peanut Soup

Peanuts are a rich source of protein. Its nutritional value is equivalent to meat and egg protein for human growth and health. I like to use it for making soup.

Ingredients:

shandong-peanuts.jpg
*70 gms raw Shandong peanuts without skin.

peanuts_with_skin.jpg
*70 gms raw peanuts with skin
*200g of pork ribs
*800ml of water
*salt to taste

Methods:

1. Bring water to boil in a pot. Then pour it to the slow cooker.
2. Put in pork ribs and both type of peanuts. Cook it under automatic mode.
3. Let it simmer for at least 5 hours. Add salt to taste before serving.

peanut-soup-2.jpg

peanut-soup-1.jpg
You can see that Shandong peanuts are larger than the common peanuts. Both are available in Tesco Hypermarket.

6 Responses to “Nutritious Peanut Soup”

  1. wenching & esiong Says:

    Yeah, I love having peanuts in soup. My mum will usually cook it with pork ribs, lotus and peanuts, love the soup!

  2. daphne Says:

    lovely! I have this soup regularly when I’m back in SG. I love the texture as well.

  3. mylittlecottage Says:

    Hi there, daphne, wenching & esiong, yea, me too, I like the soup very much. Although I just use peanuts and pork ribs, however, it’s super delicious!

  4. sue me Says:

    i like this a lot.hehe..i miss soup.gosh.i wana go home and eat my mom’s cooking.celine..why la make me jealous?lol..

  5. mylittlecottage Says:

    sue me, why jeolous? I make it by my own mah, not somebody prepare for me what…hehehe…

  6. Fortesfidelis Says:

    This reminded me of how my mum used to cook this recipe. Very tasty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

